Iowa football announces its 2016 leadership group

Mark Emmert

Starting quarterback C.J. Beathard and all-American cornerback Desmond King are among the 16 upperclassmen who will make up the Iowa football team's "leadership group."

Hawkeyes coach Kirk Ferentz announced the members of the group Thursday in a news release. The players are selected by a vote of their teammates and will be tasked with helping to formulate team policies and in team decision-making matters this season.

“Much of our success last year was driven by the 2015 Leadership Group,” Ferentz said in the release. “I am pleased with the quality job the 2016 group has already done through the winter program and spring practice. Their leadership will be even more important as we begin summer training next week in preparation for August camp and the 2016 season.”

Star cornerback Desmond King is among the 16 upperclassmen who will be pointing the way for the Iowa football team this season as a member of the Hawkeyes football program's "leadership group."

The leadership group consists of nine seniors — Beathard, King, offensive lineman Cole Croston, running back LeShun Daniels Jr., defensive lineman Jaleel Johnson, tight end George Kittle, defensive back Greg Mabin, wide receiver Riley McCarron and wide receiver Matt VandeBerg.

The seven juniors are defensive lineman Nathan Bazata, offensive lineman Ike Boettger, linebacker Bo Bower, linebacker Josey Jewell, offensive lineman Boone Myers, linebacker Ben Niemann, and offensive lineman Sean Welsh.

Iowa is coming off a 12-2 season, and players are expected back on campus next week for offseason workouts.