More watch list honors for Iowa's Beathard, King

Mark Emmert

Iowa quarterback C.J. Beathard and cornerback Desmond King were named Friday to the "watch list" for the Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year Award.

In addition, King was put on the watch list for the Paul Hornung Award given to the most versatile player in college football.

Beathard and King are among 40 players on the Walter Camp watch list.

Iowa cornerback Desmond King is now on watch lists for five major college football awards following a season in which he intercepted eight passes.

Beathard passed for 2,809 yards and 17 touchdowns while guiding the Hawkeyes to an undefeated regular season (12-2 overall) and their first Rose Bowl since 1991. He has also been named to watch lists for the Maxwell Trophy and the Davey O’Brien Award.

King tied the Iowa single-season record with eight interceptions last season, while recording 72 tackles and a team-high 13 pass breakups. He also handled the majority of punt returns and kickoff returns last season, averaging 14.2 yards on 17 punt returns and 24.4 yards on 29 kickoff returns. He was one of five finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award last year. Friday’s honors marked the fourth and fifth preseason watch lists King has been named to — he's also among those expected to receive the Bednarik Award, Nagurski Trophy and the Jim Thorpe Award (which he won last year).

Iowa quarterback C.J. Beathard is on the watch list for an award along with teammate Desmond King.

The Walter Camp watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in mid-November and the winner announced live on ESPN on Dec. 8.

Iowa State's Ryen named to watch list

The Paul Hornung watch list includes 43 players. After Week 12 of the regular season, a panel of college football experts creates a candidate list of approximately 10-15 players based on performance during the season. A 16-member selection committee votes for finalists in mid-November and chooses the winner in early December.