Big 12 wrestling: Iowa State's David Carr, Northern Iowa's Parker Keckeisen repeat as conference champs

Cody Goodwin
Des Moines Register

David Carr produced a repeat performance to secure a three-peat at the Big 12 Championships this weekend.

Carr, Iowa State’s gifted 157-pounder, won his third consecutive Big 12 tournament title on Sunday night, with an 8-2 win over North Dakota State’s Jared Franek. He was the Cyclones’ only finalist at the BOK Center this weekend.

Funny thing is, Carr beat Franek in last year’s Big 12 final by the same 8-2 score. The matches unfolded similarly, too. Both times, Carr scored two takedowns in the first period, scored a third takedown in the third, and added another point for riding-time.

Carr is now 21-0 this season and 59-1 for his career, which includes a still-active 54-match winning streak. He is also just the 16th three-time conference champ in Iowa State history, and the first since Kyven Gadson won his third in 2015.

He also likely secured his spot as the No. 1 overall seed at 157 pounds at the 2022 NCAA Championships, set for March 17-19 at Detroit’s Little Caesars Arena.

That means, two weeks from now, Carr will get an opportunity to see if he can put forth another repeat performance on an even bigger stage — which would result in his second consecutive national title.

Iowa State's David Carr won his third consecutive Big 12 tournament title on Saturday in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Mizzou wrestling returns to the Big 12, then wins the Big 12

The Missouri wrestling team left the Big 12 Conference after the 2011-12 season when the rest of the Missouri athletic teams jumped to the SEC. The Tiger wrestlers returned to the Big 12 this season, and promptly won the conference tournament this weekend.

Missouri ran away with the Big 12 team title this weekend, scoring 131.5 points to beat out second-place Oklahoma (113) and the third-place Cyclones (110), while Oklahoma State (108.5) and Northern Iowa (100) finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Iowa State, after going 15-1 overall in duals this season and 8-0 against Big 12 opponents, sought to follow its regular-season dual-meet title with a tournament title this weekend. A slow start and rough semifinal round ultimately doomed the Cyclones.

Carr was Iowa State’s only finalist, but seven Cyclone wrestlers finished fifth or better at their respective weights. More importantly, eight Iowa State wrestlers qualified for the NCAA Championships:

  • Ramazan Attasaouv, at 133 (finished third)
  • Ian Parker, at 141 (fifth)
  • Jarrett Degen, at 149 (fourth)
  • Carr
  • Joel Devine, at 174 (seventh)
  • Marcus Coleman, at 184 (third)
  • Yonger Bastida, at 197 (fifth)
  • Sam Schuyler, at 285 (fourth)

Northern Iowa entered the Big 12 tournament with cautious optimism, and ended up experiencing high highs and low lows. Three Panther wrestlers made the finals — Brody Teske (125), Kyle Biscoglia (133), Parker Keckeisen (184) — but had just five total wrestlers finish fifth or better at their respective weights.

Keckeisen also won his second consecutive Big 12 title, defeating Missouri’s Jeremiah Kent, 13-3, in the finals at 184 pounds. He went 4-0 and outscored his four opponents by a combined 58-19. Northern Iowa has won the last five Big 12 titles at 184: Drew Foster in 2018-19, Taylor Lujan in 2020, and now Keckeisen each of the last tow years.

Teske and Biscoglia both lost — Teske to West Virginia’s Killian Cardinale, 8-3; Biscoglia to Oklahoma State’s Daton Fix, 6-2. Behind them, both Colin Realbuto (149) and Austin Yant (165) took third. More importantly, seven Panther wrestlers qualified for the NCAA Championships:

  • Teske
  • Biscoglia
  • Realbuto
  • Derek Holschlag, at 157 (finished sixth)
  • Yant
  • Lance Runyon, at 174 (sixth)
  • Keckeisen
Northern Iowa's Parker Keckeisen, right, wrestles Iowa State's Marcus Coleman at 184 pounds on Feb. 11 in Cedar Falls.

Two more Iowa natives qualify for NCAA Championships

A pair of former Iowa high-school wrestlers also qualified for the 2022 NCAA Championships — and both of them rep South Dakota State.

Cade DeVos, from Southeast Polk, and Tanner Sloan, from Alburnett, both earned automatic bids to the national tournament at the Big 12 Championships this weekend. DeVos finished fourth at 174 pounds while Sloan was the runner-up at 197.

DeVos entered as the 2-seed at 174, but lost in the semifinals, 2-0 to Missouri’s Peyton Mocco, on Saturday night. He rallied to reach the third-place match and finished 3-2 overall this weekend.

Sloan also entered as the 2-seed up at 197, and made good on that position by winning three matches on Saturday to reach Sunday night’s championship match. There, he lost to Wyoming’s Stephen Buchanan, 3-2, to finish second.

Cody Goodwin covers wrestling and high school sports for the Des Moines Register. Follow him on Twitter at @codygoodwin.

2022 Big 12 Wrestling Championships

Final Team Scores

  1. Mizzou, 131.5
  2. Oklahoma, 113
  3. Iowa State, 110
  4. Oklahoma State, 108.5
  5. Northern Iowa, 100
  6. South Dakota State, 66
  7. North Dakota State, 62
  8. West Virginia, 62
  9. Wyoming, 57.5
  10. Air Force, 45
  11. Northern Colorado, 35.5
  12. Utah Valley, 34

Finals Results

  • 125: Killian Cardinale (WVU) dec. Brody Teske (UNI), 8-3
  • 133: Daton Fix (OSU) dec. Kyle Biscoglia (UNI), 6-2
  • 141: Andrew Alirez (UNC) dec. Allan Hart (Missouri), 6-4
  • 149: Kaden Gfeller (OSU) dec. Willie McDougald (OU), 2-1
  • 157: David Carr (ISU) dec. Jared Franek (NDSU), 8-2
  • 165: Keegan O`Toole (MIZ) dec. Peyton Hall (WVU), 13-7
  • 174: Dustin Plott (OSU) dec. Peyton Mocco (MIZ), 4-3
  • 184: Parker Keckeisen (UNI) maj. dec. Jeremiah Kent (MIZ), 13-3
  • 197: Stephen Buchanan (WYO) dec. Tanner Sloan (SDSU), 3-2
  • 285: Wyatt Hendrickson (AF) maj. dec. Luke Surber (OSU), 16-6