CLOSE

As it exits the Megan Gustafson era, the Iowa women’s basketball team hopes its foreign trip to Spain helps with the transition. Hawk Central

LINKEDINCOMMENTMORE

IOWA CITY, Ia. — Iowa's upcoming women's basketball schedule is officially complete.

The Big Ten announced the Hawkeyes' 18-game league schedule Friday afternoon, featuring four Sunday home games and plenty of intriguing matchups. A few missing pieces on Iowa's nonconference slate were confirmed as well.

Iowa opens Big Ten play Dec. 28 at Nebraska. The Hawkeyes' conference home opener comes Dec. 31 versus Illinois. Senior Day will be Feb. 27 against Minnesota, the last leg of a three-game home stretch that precedes Iowa's Big Ten finale at Rutgers. 

Sunday crowds at Carver-Hawkeye Arena were large last season — and Iowa has some intriguing weekend games to try to build on that momentum. The Hawkeyes host Indiana (Jan. 12), Michigan State (Jan. 26), Wisconsin (Feb. 16) and Penn State (Feb. 23) at week's end. 

In the nonconference, games against Clemson, Iowa State, Northern Iowa and Drake had previously been announced — but the dates are now official. The Hawkeyes will face the Tigers on Dec. 4. Iowa's in-state slate comes Nov. 17 (at Northern Iowa), Dec. 11 (at Iowa State) and Dec. 21 (versus Drake).

After an exhibition game Nov. 3 versus Winona State, Iowa will begin the season Nov. 7 versus Florida Atlantic. Home games against North Alabama (Nov. 14) and Princeton (Nov. 20) sandwich the Cedar Falls road trip.

Iowa then heads to Puerto Rico for games against Cincinnati (Nov. 27), Towson (Nov. 28) and Washington (Nov. 30). In between the Iowa State and Drake contests is a home game against North Carolina Central (Dec. 14).

Tip times and television information will be announced at a later date. 

The schedule will be a solid test for the Hawkeyes, which graduated three starters off last season's Elite Eight squad. Megan Gustafson, Tania Davis and Hannah Stewart are gone, meaning returners like Kathleen Doyle, Makenzie Meyer and Alexis Sevillian will need to keep the success rolling. 

No one covers the Hawkeyes like Hawk Central, the Register and the Press-Citizen. Subscribe today so you don't miss a moment.​​​​​​​

Iowa's 2019-20 regular-season women's basketball schedule

Sun., Nov. 3: Winona State (exhibition)

Thurs., Nov. 7: vs. Florida Atlantic

Thurs., Nov. 14: vs. North Alabama

Sun., Nov. 17: at Northern Iowa

Wed., Nov. 20: vs. Princeton

Wed., Nov. 27: vs. Cincinnati (Puerto Rico)

Thurs., Nov. 28: vs. Towson (Puerto Rico)

Sat., Nov. 30: vs. Washington (Puerto Rico)

Wed., Dec. 4: vs. Clemson

Wed., Dec. 11: at Iowa State

Sat., Dec. 14: vs. North Carolina Central

Sat., Dec. 21: vs. Drake

Sat., Dec. 28: at Nebraska

Tues., Dec. 31 vs. Illinois

Sun., Jan. 5: at Northwestern

Thurs., Jan. 9: vs. Maryland

Sun., Jan. 12 vs. Indiana

Thurs., Jan. 16: at Minnesota

Sun., Jan. 19: at Wisconsin

Thurs., Jan. 23: vs. Ohio State

Sun., Jan. 26: vs. Michigan State

Thurs., Jan. 30: at Penn State

Sun., Feb. 2: at Michigan

Thurs., Feb. 6: vs. Nebraska

Sun., Feb. 9: at Purdue

Thurs., Feb. 13: at Maryland

Sun., Feb. 16: vs. Wisconsin

Sun., Feb. 23 vs. Penn State

Thurs., Feb. 27: vs. Minnesota

Sun., March 1: at Rutgers

Dargan Southard covers Iowa and UNI athletics, recruiting and preps for the Des Moines Register, HawkCentral.com and the Iowa City Press-Citizen. Email him at msouthard@gannett.com or follow him on Twitter at @Dargan_Southard.

LINKEDINCOMMENTMORE