Six Hawkeyes earn all-Big Ten baseball honors

Register news services

A school-record six Iowa baseball players — Blake Hickman, Eric Toole, Calvin Mathews, Nick Hibbing, Nick Roscetti, and Tyler Peyton — earned all-Big Ten recognition for the 2015 season, the league announced Tuesday.

Hickman earned first-team honors. Toole, Mathews and Hibbing were named to the second team. Roscetti and Peyton were third-team selections.

Hickman is the first Iowa starting pitcher since 2004 (Nathan Johnson) to earn first-team recognition. The junior is 9-1 with a 2.75 ERA in 14 starts and is limiting hitters to a .207 batting average. Hickman went 7-0 in Big Ten play to tie for the league lead in wins. The nine victories are the most by a Hawkeye pitcher since 2005 and are tied for the fourth-most in a single season in program history.

Toole earned his third career all-Big Ten honor, taking home second-team honors for the second time in his career. The outfielder and leadoff hitter has reached base safely in 50-of-52 games this season and ranks second in the Big Ten in steals (27) and sixth in hits (72).

Hibbing earned a spot on the second team — his first career honor — after going 2-1 with a 1.67 ERA and seven saves in 20 relief appearances during the regular season.

Mathews garnered his first career all-league recognition after going 5-2 with a 2.08 ERA in 13 regular-season starts. The right-hander ranks fourth in the conference with a 2.08 ERA and is holding batters to a .243 average.

The second-seeded Hawkeyes open Big Ten Tournament play Wednesday at 1 p.m. against seventh-seeded Ohio State at Target Field in Minneapolis.