Big Ten releases men's hoops opponents for 2015-16

Rick Brown

Iowa's 2015-16 Big Ten men's basketball schedule will include a lot of air miles and not many bus trips.

The conference on Thursday released each school's five home-and-home rivals and eight one-play opponents for next season. The Hawkeyes have home-and-home dates with Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Penn State and Purdue.

Iowa will also host Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern and Wisconsin and play at Illinois, Maryland, Ohio State and Rutgers.

That means that in 2016-17, Iowa will play Maryland, Rutgers and Illinois on a home-and-home basis, then a new cycle kicks in to determine the other two-play opponents.

The five teams played on a home-and-home basis this season automatically became one-plays next season. That's why Iowa has one-play games with border-state opponents Wisconsin, Minnesota, Northwestern and Wisconsin next season.

Iowa's 2015-16 Big Ten Opponent Designations

Home and away: Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Penn State, Purdue

Home: Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Wisconsin

Away: Illinois, Maryland, Ohio State, Rutgers