Iowa's Jarrod Uthoff reaches consensus all-America status

Chad Leistikow
IowaÕs Jarrod Uthoff (20) is welcomed to the bench by his teammates in the final seconds of Iowa's 87-68 loss to Villanova at their second round NCAA Basketball Championship game on Sunday, March 20, 2016 in New York City, New York.

IOWA CITY, Ia. — Jarrod Uthoff on Tuesday became the most decorated Iowa men’s basketball player in 64 years.

Uthoff added a hefty notch to his postseason awards belt Tuesday, scooping up third-team All-America honors from The Associated Press. Being on one of the three five-player AP teams is a biggie. The list has been a staple in American college basketball since 1948, when Iowa's Murray Wier graced the AP's inaugural first team.

In 1952, Chuck Darling became Iowa’s second first-team AP All-American and fourth "consensus" all-American. Iowa hadn't had one since — until Uthoff clinched consensus status Tuesday. The NCAA recognizes any player to make each of the AP, U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) and National Association of Basketball Coaches (NACB) teams as a consensus all-American; it's tough to do, because the USBWA only produces two five-player teams.

Uthoff becomes Iowa's ninth AP All-American and first in 19 years, joining Wier, Darling, Don Nelson (third team, 1962), Sam Williams (third, 1968), John Johnson (third, 1970), Fred Brown (third, 1971), Ronnie Lester (second, 1979) and Andre Woolridge (1997).

Uthoff uniquely was also an academic all-American — in fact, he was named the Academic All-American of the Year in men’s basketball earlier this month. And in addition to being named a unanimous first-team all-Big Ten Conference choice, he also was also named to the league’s five-player all-defense team for the 22-11 Hawkeyes.

Uthoff ranked second to Michigan State’s Denzel Valentine in the Big Ten at 18.9 points per game, led the league in blocked shots (2.6) and tied for 13th in rebounding (6.3). Despite just a three-year college career, the 6-foot-9 forward originally from Marengo ranks 19th in Iowa history with 1,298 points.

Jarrod Uthoff on faith, love, basketball and his Iowa legacy

Nationally, only Uthoff and Stony Brook’s Jameel Warney accumulated at least 600 points, 200 rebounds and 85 blocked shots this season. In the past two decades, only Uthoff this year and Duke’s Shane Battier (in 1999-2000 and 2000-01) averaged at least two blocks and two 3-pointers per game.

Prior to fetching the AP honor, Uthoff earned second-team all-America status from the Sporting News and USBWA, and he was on the NABC and USA TODAY third teams. He was also one of five finalists for the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year honor and one of 15 finalists for the John Wooden Award as the nation’s MVP.


First Team

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State, 6-5, 220, senior, Lansing, Mich., 19.4 ppg, 7.6 rpg, 7.6 apg, 44.7 3pt fg pct, 85.3 ft pct (65, 325).

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma, 6-4, 214, senior, Freeport, Bahamas, 25.0 ppg, 5.6 rpg, 3.0 apg, 46.4 3pt fg pct, 89.5 ft pct, 35.0 minutes (65, 325).

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky, 5-9, 160, sophomore, Chicago, 17.2 ppg, 3.2 rpg, 7.2 apg, 85.6 ft pct, 1.5 steals, 36.9 minutes (43, 273).

Brice Johnson, North Carolina, 6-10, 230, senior, Orangeburg, S.C., 16.6 ppg, 10.6 rrpg, 61.4 fg pct, 1.3 blocks (39, 269).

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia, 6-5, 215, senior, Atlanta, 18.7 ppg, 4.1 rpg, 2.8 apg, 40.9 3pt fg pct, 88.4 ft pct (36, 263).

Second Team

Jakob Poeltl, Utah, 7-0, 248, sophomore, Vienna, Austria, 17.6 ppg, 9.2 rpg, 64.9 fg pct, 1.6 blocks (41, 259).

Ben Simmons, LSU, 6-10, 240, freshman, Melbourne, Australia, 19.2 ppg, 11.8 rpg, 4.8 apg, 56.0 fg pct, 2.0 steals, (13, 200).

Perry Ellis, Kansas, 6-8, 225, senior, Wichita, Kan., 16.7 ppg, 5.9 rpg, 52.3 fg pct, 43.3 3pt fg pct (9, 151).

Kris Dunn, Providence, 6-4, 220, junior, New London, Conn., 16.0 ppg, 5.5 rpg, 6.4 apg, 2.5 steals (3, 150).

Georges Niang, Iowa State, 6-8, 230, senior, Methuen, Mass., 19.8 ppg, 6.2 rpg, 3.3 apg, 54.7 fg pct (5, 140).

Third Team

Grayson Allen, Duke, 6-5, 205, sophomore, Jacksonville, Fla., 21.6 ppg, 4.5 rpg, 3.6 apg, 41.7 3pt fg pct, 83.5 ft pct, 1.4 steals, 36.3 minutes (2, 130).

Kevin “Yogi” Ferrell, Indiana, 6-0, 180, senior, Indianapolis, 17.0 ppg, 3.9 rpg, 5.5 apg, 41.7 3pt fg pct (2, 123).

Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa, 6-9, 221, senior, Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 18.9 ppg, 6.4 rpg, 2.7 blocks (0, 76).

Kay Felder, Oakland, 5-9, 176, junior, Detroit, 24.2 ppg, 4.1 rpg, 9.3 apg, 84.6 ft pct, 2.0 steals, 36.8 minutes (2, 52).

Jamal Murray, Kentucky, 6-4, 207, freshman, Kitchener, Ontario, 20.1 ppg, 5.1 rpg, 2.1 apg, 42.1 3pt fg pct, 35.2 minutes (0, 47).

Honorable Mention (in alphabetical order)

Ryan Anderson, Arizona; Anthony “Cat” Barber, N.C. State; DeAndre’ Bembry, Saint Joseph’s; Ben Bentil, Providence; Trevon Bluiett, Xavier; Joel Bolomboy, Weber State; Evan Bradds, Belmont; Dillon Brooks, Oregon; Cane Broome, Sacred Heart; John Brown, High Point; Antonio Campbell, Ohio; Kyle Collinsworth, BYU; Stephen Croone, Furman; James Daniel III, Howard; Juan’ya Green, Hofstra; Derrick Griffin, Texas Southern; Alex Hamilton, Louisiana Tech; A.J. Hammons, Purdue; Marvelle Harris, Fresno State; Josh Hart, Villanova; Danuel House, Texas A&M; Brandon Ingram, Duke; Stefan Jankovic, Hawaii; Tim Kempton, Lehigh; Max Landis, IPFW; Shawn Long, Louisiana-Lafayette; Dallas Moore, North Florida; Nic Moore, SMU; Gary Payton II, Oregon State; Alec Peters, Valparaiso; Justin Robinson, Monmouth (N.J.); Domantas Sabonis, Gonzaga; Justin Sears, Yale; Pascal Siakam, New Mexico State; Melo Trimble, Maryland; Fred VanVleet, Wichita State; Thomas Walkup, Stephen F. Austin; Jameel Warney, Stony Brook; Isaiah Whitehead, Seton Hall; Greg Wiltjer, Gonzaga.