Iowa Hawkeyes learn Big Ten basketball opponents for 2018-19

Mark Emmert
Hawk Central

The Iowa men's basketball team will host border rivals Illinois, Nebraska, Northwestern and Wisconsin next winter.

The Big Ten Conference released Thursday each team's opponents for its first-ever 20-game league season in 2018-19.

Each Big Ten team will play home-and-home series against seven league foes. The remaining six games will be against opponents that teams will face only once, three at home and three away. The Big Ten previously played an 18-game regular season.

Jordan Bohannon and his Iowa Hawkeyes basketball team will host 10 of 13 Big Ten opponents next season in the league's first-ever 20-game format.

Iowa will play the following seven teams at home and away: Indiana, Michigan State, Nebraska, Northwestern, Ohio State, Rutgers and Wisconsin.

The Hawkeyes will host Illinois, Maryland and Michigan.

The Hawkeyes will visit Minnesota, Penn State and Purdue.

Dates for the games will be revealed by Big Ten Network in mid-August. Tipoff times and broadcast information will be announced after Labor Day.

The 20-game schedule preserves three in-state rivalries that are assured of playing home-and-home series each year: Illinois/Northwestern, Indiana/Purdue and Michigan/Michigan State.

Iowa finished 14-19 last season, including 4-14 in Big Ten play.

Previous basketball coverage:

FRAN UNPLUGGED: In-depth with McCaffery on what derailed Iowa's season

UNPLUGGED Part II:In-depth with McCaffery on the uncertain future of program

BIG BOARD:Iowa basketball recruiting, April edition

LEISTIKOW:Jordan Bohannon aims to keep remaining Hawkeyes united