Big Ten return award named after Dwight, Nebraska's Rodgers

Associated Press

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten's top performer on kickoffs, punt returns or both will receive the Rodgers-Dwight Return Specialist of the Year trophy beginning this season.

Tim Dwight (6) was a two-time all-American at Iowa and still holds the Hawkeyes’ record for career punt returns for touchdowns with five.

The conference on Tuesday announced the new award named in honor of former return specialists Tim Dwight of Iowa and Johnny Rodgers of Nebraska.

Dwight and Rodgers will be recognized Friday at the Iowa-Nebraska game in Lincoln, Neb. Dwight, an Iowa City High alum, was a two-time first-team All-American as a punt returner, earning consensus All-America honors in 1997. Rodgers was a two-time All-American who won the Heisman Trophy in 1972.

The Big Ten also will expand its all-conference teams, adding a third team to first-team, second-team and honorable mention selections.