Iowa's Desmond King gets Big Ten defensive award

Chad Leistikow

Desmond King probably clinched the award for Big Ten Conference’s best defensive back with his spectacular 88-yard interception return for a touchdown Oct. 31 against Maryland. It just didn’t become official until Monday night.

The Iowa junior was named Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year, becoming the second Hawkeye to earn that honor (joining Micah Hyde in 2012).

Iowa cornerback Desmond King announced on Tuesday that he was going to return to the Hawkeyes for his senior season. The Jim Thorpe Award winner caught a school-record tying eight interceptions and earned All-American honors.

King is tied for the nation’s lead with eight interceptions. He’ll have at least two more chances to get a school-record ninth, including in Saturday’s Big Ten Championship Game against No. 5 Michigan State.

Desmond King: A story of thanks, tragedy and record-setting success

King was also named a unanimous first team defensive back in the live BTN broadcast, which aired the league’s all-conference award winners on defense and special teams. Iowa has had a first-team defensive back in six of the last seven years (Tyler Sash, 2009; Sash and Shaun Prater, 2010; Prater, 2011; Hyde, 2012; B.J. Lowery, 2013).

No other Hawkeyes made the first team. Iowa sophomore Josey Jewell was a second-team pick by the media and coaches after ranking fifth in the Big Ten with 111 tackles. Kicker Marshall Koehn, whose walk-off, 57-yard field goal helped Iowa beat Pittsburgh on Sept. 19, was a second-teamer by the coaches.

The 14-team Big Ten added a third team to its honor list this year; Iowa defensive end Nate Meier (6.5 sacks) made both third teams, and coaches made safety Jordan Lomax (82 tackles) a third-teamer.

The offensive teams and coach of the year will be revealed Tuesday at 5 p.m. on BTN.

NCAA president 'very pleased' with revisions to Indiana religious freedom law