Ferentz wins Woody Hayes Coach of the Year award

Register staff report

Iowa head football coach Kirk Ferentz has been named the 2015 Woody Hayes Coach of the Year. The announcement was made Tuesday by the Touchdown Club of Columbus.

Named for former Ohio State coach Woody Hayes, The Woody Hayes Award has recognized the nation’s top coach each year since 1977. This is the first time Ferentz has won the award.

The award is voted on by coaches, sportswriters and former players who belong to the Touchdown Club. This is the first time Ferentz has won the award.

Ferentz led Iowa to a perfect 12-0 regular-season record before their 16-13 loss to Michigan State in the Big Ten title game. The Hawkeyes will take on Stanford in the Rose Bowl on New Year’s Day (4 p.m., ESPN).

Previous Winners

  • 2014: Gary Patterson, TCU
  • 2013: Gus Malzahn, Auburn
  • 2012: Urban Meyer, Ohio State
  • 2011: Bill Snyder, Kansas State
  • 2010: Jim Harbaugh, Stanford

Iowa's 'what-if' moments from the Big Ten title game loss