C.J. Beathard, Desmond King on watch lists for top awards

Mark Emmert

Iowa quarterback C.J. Beathard was named Tuesday to the "watch list" for the Maxwell Trophy, given to the college football player of the year. Fellow Hawkeye senior cornerback Desmond King was named to the watch list for the Bednarik trophy, awarded to college football's best defensive player.

Beathard started all 14 games at quarterback last season, passing for 2,809 yards and 17 touchdowns, while rushing for 237 yards and six touchdowns.

A team captain in 2015, Beathard earned second-team All-Big Ten honors.

Iowa quarterback C.J. Beathard is on the watch list for the Maxwell Trophy given to college footbaall's best player.

King started all 14 games at cornerback a year ago, tying the Iowa single-season record and ranking second in the country with eight interceptions while recording 72 tackles and a team-high 13 pass breakups.

He was named a consensus All-American, a recipient of the Jim Thorpe award — given to the nation’s top cornerback — and a recipient of the Jack Tatum Award in 2015. In addition, King was named one of five finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, named the Tatum-Woodson Big Ten Conference Defensive Back of the Year, and was voted first team All-Big Ten.

The Maxwell and Bednarik awards will announce semifinalists on Oct. 31 while finalists for each award will be revealed Nov. 21. Winners will be unveiled during the College Football Awards show on Dec. 8.