Iowa coach Ferentz on watch list for Dodd Trophy

Mark Emmert

Iowa's Kirk Ferentz was one of 24 college football coaches named to the Dodd Trophy preseason "watch list" Friday.

Ferentz won the award last year after leading the Hawkeyes to a 12-2 season.

The Dodd Trophy goes to the head coach of a team who enjoys success on the gridiron, while also stressing the importance of scholarship, leadership and integrity.

Iowa football coach Kirk Ferentz is presented with the 2015 Bobby Dodd Trophy during the Hawkeyes' spring game at Kinnick Stadium on April 23. He is on the early watch list to repeat as Dodd Trophy winner this year.

The watch list took into consideration each program’s graduation rate, commitment to service and charity in the community, projected success for the 2016 season and Academic Progress Rate.

Ferentz, going into his 18th season as head coach at Iowa, is one of six previous winners of the trophy to be named to the watch list. The others are Bob Stoops (2003), Gary Patterson (2009), Chris Petersen (2010), Dabo Swinney (2011) and Nick Saban (2014).

Additional watch lists — adding to or narrowing the field — will be released throughout the fall. The winner will be announced in Atlanta during the College Football Playoff semifinal at the Peach Bowl.