Iowa's Beathard on watch list for award to top QB

Mark Emmert

Iowa senior C.J. Beathard was named Thursday to the "watch list" for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

Beathard started all 14 games at quarterback last season, passing for 2,809 yards and 17 touchdowns, while rushing for 237 yards and six touchdowns.

A team captain in 2015, Beathard earned second team All-Big Ten honors by league coaches and media. Earlier this month, he was named to the Maxwell Trophy watch list, presented annually to the national college football player of the year.

Iowa quarterback C.J. Beathard is on the watch list for an award along with teammate Desmond King.

The Davey O’Brien watch list includes 30 of the nation’s top college quarterbacks. Sixteen semifinalists will be named Nov. 10 and three finalists Nov. 22. The winner will be announced Dec. 8 at the College Football Awards.

Iowa has had two Davey O’Brien Award winners — Chuck Long (1985) and Brad Banks (2002).