Iowa's C.J. Beathard makes Manning Award watch list

Mark Emmert

Last month, Iowa quarterback C.J. Beathard spent some time picking the brain of Peyton Manning. On Monday, Beathard found himself on the "watch list" to win the award named for the first family of quarterbacking.

The Manning Award is presented to college football's top quarterback. It was created by the Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

The Mannings run a quarterback camp each summer, and Beathard was invited to be an instructor at this year's event.

A list of 10 Manning Award finalists will be released Nov. 30. The winner will be announced Jan. 11.

Beathard passed for 2,809 yards and 17 touchdowns, while rushing for 237 yards and six touchdowns, last season, being named second-team all-Big Ten by league coaches

In July, Beathard also was named to the watch lists for the Maxwell Trophy, Davey O'Brien Award and Walter Camp Player of the Year.

This year’s Manning Award Watch List includes 30 of the nation's top college quarterbacks, ranging across all 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences. The Big 12 leads the way with five selections, followed by the Big Ten and ACC with four each.

In addition to the Manning Award's yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Last season, Beathard garnered Manning Quarterback of the Week honors following his performance in Iowa’s road victory over rival Iowa State.