Bob Sanders nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame


Former Iowa Hawkeyes and Indianapolis Colts safety Bob Sanders is among the 94 players and coaches nominated for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's class of 2017.

Sanders, a second-round choice in the 2004 NFL Draft, played for the Colts from 2004-10. He was the NFL Defensive Player of the Year and a Super Bowl champion in the 2007 season when he had 96 total tackles, 3.5 sacks, two interceptions and six pass deflections.

The 5-foot-8 Sanders ranks 10th all-time in tackles for the Hawkeyes with 348 between 2000 and 2003.

Other notable players with ties to the state of Iowa include quarterback Kurt Warner (Northern Iowa) and offensive lineman Jay Hilgenberg (Iowa).

— Indianapolis Star and Associated Press contributed to this report.

'Quintessential Hawkeye' winning trio: Clark, Greenway, Sanders

2017 Hall of Fame Nominees List


List to be reduced to 25 in November (x-2016 nominee):

QUARTERBACKS (7) — Drew Bledsoe, Randall Cunningham, Doug Flutie, Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair, Phil Simms, x-Kurt Warner

RUNNING BACKS (13) — Shaun Alexander, Ottis Anderson, Tiki Barber, Larry Centers, Roger Craig, x-Terrell Davis, Eddie George, x-Edgerrin James, Daryl Johnston, Eric Metcalf (also WR/PR/KR), LaDainian Tomlinson, Herschel Walker (also KR), Ricky Watters

WIDE RECEIVERS (10) — Isaac Bruce, Henry Ellard (also PR), Torry Holt, Chad Johnson, Derrick Mason (also KR/PR), x-Terrell Owens, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith, Hines Ward

TIGHT END (1) — Mark Bavaro

OFFENSIVEf LINEMEN (14) — Tony Boselli (T), Ray Donaldson (C), x-Alan Faneca (G), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), x-Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), Olin Kreutz (C), Jim Lachey (T), Kevin Mawae (C/G), Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G), Steve Wisniewski (G)

DEFENSIVE LINEMEN (5) — Leslie O'Neal (DE), Simeon Rice (DE), Fred Smerlas (NT), Jason Taylor (DE), Bryant Young (DT)

LINEBACKERS (11) — Carl Banks, Cornelius Bennett, Tedy Bruschi, Seth Joyner, Levon Kirkland, Clay Matthews, Willie McGinest (also DE), Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Joey Porter, Zach Thomas

DEFENSIVE BACKS (16) — Eric Allen (CB), x-Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Brian Dawkins (SS), Rodney Harrison (S), Ty Law (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), x-John Lynch (S), Frank Minnifield (CB), Bob Sanders (SS), Darren Sharper (FS), Dennis Smith (SS), Troy Vincent (S), Everson Walls (CB), Darren Woodson (S)

KICKERS/PUNTER (4) — x-Morten Andersen (K), Gary Anderson (K), Sean Landeta (P), Nick Lowery (K)

SPECIAL TEAMS (2) — Brian Mitchell (KR/PR also RB), Steve Tasker (ST also WR)

COACHES (11) — x-Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Mike Holmgren, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil