All-Big Ten teams mostly pass on Iowa's offense

Chad Leistikow

For just the second time in the Kirk Ferentz era, Iowa didn’t land an offensive player on the Big Ten’s first or second all-conference teams.

That probably shouldn’t be a huge surprise, considering Iowa ranked 12th in the Big Ten in total offense – ahead of only paltry Illinois and Rutgers. Still, the Hawkeyes are on the doorstep of having two 1,000-yard rushers in the same season for the first time in school history.

The Hawkeyes settled for four third-team selections. Sophomore center James Daniels, junior guard Sean Welsh and senior tackle Cole Croston (who missed five games due to injury) and running back Akrum Wadley made the third team, which the Big Ten began recognizing in 2015. Wadley was Iowa's all-purpose yardage leader in the 8-4 regular season, with 1,260 total yards on 146 carries and second-on-the-team 32 receptions.

Iowa coach Kirk Ferentz greets offensive lineman Sean Welsh, probably his most effective blocker, earlier this season. Welsh and two other linemen were named third-team all-Big Ten.

The Big Ten Network unveiled offensive all-conference honors Wednesday.

Five Hawkeye offensive players received honorable mention: quarterback C.J. Beathard, tackle Ike Boettger, running back LeShun Daniels, Jr., tight end George Kittle and receiver Riley McCarron.

The last (and only) time Iowa didn’t have an all-Big Ten offensive player of the first or second teams under Ferentz was in 2007, when defensive tackle Mitch King was the lone first-teamer.

Though Iowa was shut out on the first two teams, an Iowan was honored. Michigan senior wide receiver Amara Darboh, a Dowling Catholic alum who had 52 catches for 826 yards and seven touchdowns this season, was a second-teamer by media and coaches.

Iowa had two first-teamers on defense when those teams were revealed Tuesday: cornerback Desmond King and defensive tackle Jaleel Johnson.