Ex-Hawkeye Robert Gallery makes Hall of Fame ballot

Chad Leistikow
Hawk Central

Arguably the most dominant offensive lineman in the Kirk Ferentz era is now up for monumental recognition.

Robert Gallery, the 2003 winner of the Outland Trophy and eventual No. 2 overall pick in the NFL Draft, was one of 75 FBS players who appeared on Thursday's reveal of the latest College Football Hall of Fame ballot.

Former Hawkeye offensive tackle Robert Gallery was the No. 2 overall pick of the Oakland Raiders in the 2004 NFL Draft and played in the NFL for eight seasons.

Ten players made the cut for last year's Hall of Fame; the 2018 class will be revealed Jan. 8 in Atlanta, site of this season's national championship game.

The last Hawkeye to be inducted was linebacker Larry Station, inducted in 2009. To make the ballot, players need to have attained major first-team all-America status, be out of college football for 10 years and no longer be playing professionally.