Three Hawkeyes win individual titles at 2017 Big Ten outdoor track & field championships

Hawk Central


Some Hawkeyes made history at the Big Ten's 2017 outdoor track and field conference championships this weekend.

En route to a fifth-place finish for the Iowa men's track and field team and a seventh-place finish for the women, three Hawkeyes took home conference titles.

Senior Aaron Mallet won the 110-meter hurdles, becoming the sixth Hawkeye to win three Big Ten titles. His 13.24-second time set a Penn State facility record and tied the conference record.

Freshman Laulauga Tausaga's 55-meter throw won the women's discus competition and also set a facility record. Her victory was the first women's discus title in the university's history.

Junior Brittany Brown won her second straight 200-meter conference title with a wind-aided time of 22.30 seconds. She also came in second in the 100-meter dash. 

Purdue won the women's overall title while Penn State won the men's championship at their home complex.