Brands calls Iowa's 33-3 win over Maryland 'sloppy' staff report from news services


COLLEGE PARK, Md. As far as 33-3 Big Ten Conference dual wins go, Friday's rout at Maryland wasn't a keeper for Iowa coach Tom Brands.

"Sloppy," he said afterward. "Looking ahead."

The top-ranked Hawkeyes maintained their course toward an eighth Big Ten regular-season title in the past nine years with the win. They can clinch a share Sunday at No. 5 Penn State, the four-time defending national champion.

But first things first, Iowa had to take care of business in front of 2,139 fans in improving to 12-0 overall, 7-0 in the Big Ten. Maryland fell to 5-13, 0-7.

The meet started at 141 pounds, where 10th-ranked Josh Dziewa outlasted No. 20 Shyheim Brown, 3-1, on a takedown with four seconds left in sudden victory.

That seemed to be the theme of the night. Iowa won nine of 10 duals, but had trouble putting many Terrapins away.

Brands expressed frustration that none of his guys recorded a pin. Brandon Sorensen (149), Mike Evans (174), Sammy Brooks (184) and Thomas Gilman (125) each won by major decision, and Nick Moore (165) won by medical forfeit.

Kris Klapprodt, subbing for No. 4 Nathan Burak at 197, picked up his first career Big Ten dual victory, beating Rob Fitzgerald, 9-3.

Iowa's lone loss of the night came at 157, where eighth-ranked Michael Kelly was upset by unrated Lou Mascola (now 13-10), 5-4.

"Whatever's in front of you, you have to take care of that business," Brands said. "You have to take care of it, and crumple it, and then move on. We didn't crumple it. We've got to really put them away. We let them hang in there too much."

The dual ended at 133, where Iowa's No. 7 Cory Clark gave up an early takedown but rallied to beat Maryland's highest-ranked wrestler, No. 13 Geoffrey Alexander, 7-5.



141 – Josh Dziewa (I) dec. Shyheim Brown, 3-1 (OT).

149 – Brandon Sorensen (I) major dec. Ben Dorsay, 18-6.

157 – Lou Mascola (M) dec. Michael Kelly, 5-4.

165 – Nick Moore (I) won by medical forfeit over Tyler Manion.

174 – Mike Evans (I) major dec. Josh Snook, 17-5.*

184 – Sammy Brooks (I) major dec. Tony Gardner, 19-8.

197 – Kris Klapprodt (I) dec. Rob Fitzgerald, 9-3.

Hwt. – Bobby Telford (I) dec. Spencer Myers, 4-0.

125 – Thomas Gilman (I) major dec. Josh Polacek, 20-9.

133 – Cory Clark (I) dec. Geoffrey Alexander, 7-5.

*—Iowa docked one team point for unsportsmanlike conduct on Evans