Brooks, Gilman win Big Ten wrestling titles for third-place Iowa

Chris Cuellar

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. — Sam Brooks had already been to the top of this podium. Thomas Gilman was waiting to use it as his launching pad.

But both of Iowa’s seniors got to enjoy their climbs at the Big Ten Championships on Sunday afternoon. The two title-winners led Iowa to a third-place team finish inside Assembly Hall, where Ohio State and Penn State tangled over top honors.

Iowa's Sam Brooks takes down Ohio State's Myles Martin in the 184-pound final at the Big Ten Wrestling Championships in Bloomington, Ind., on Sunday. Brooks won the match by a 12-2 major decision.

“I’ll look back at the medals eventually, but I think if I’m focusing on the process and every day, then the other stuff will work out,” Brooks said after winning his second straight conference crown at 184 pounds.

Gilman and Brooks gave the Hawkeyes a finals split. Cory Clark and Michael Kemerer lost on Sunday, but claimed runner-up honors at 133 and 157.

Those matches and consolation results left Iowa with 112.5 team points.

Ohio State (139.5 points) used four individual champions to win the team title over defending national champ Penn State (130). Seven Hawkeyes earned automatic qualifying berths to the NCAA Championships, which begin March 16 in St. Louis.

“Now we’re to what we talk about all year, and we’ve got work to do,” Iowa head coach Tom Brands said.

Gilman’s 4-0 decision over Tim Lambert at 125 pounds was his seventh win in a row over the Nebraska senior. Brooks used an early high-scoring sweep to beat Ohio State’s Myles Martin, a defending NCAA champ, with a 12-2 major decision.

“It’s just a stepping stone, and there’s a lot of work to do,” Gilman said. “Back to the practice room and back to training. A Big Ten title is a big deal, but it’s one step along the way.”

MORE ON THOMAS GILMAN:Understanding Iowa's complex top-ranked wrestler

Clark lost on a last-second escape to Ohio State’s Nathan Tomasello in a 5-4 thriller, while Kemerer dropped an 8-2 contest against Penn State’s undefeated Jason Nolf.

The Hawkeyes have placed third at the Big Ten Championships on three other occasions under Brands: in 2007, 2012 and 2013. They have never finished lower in his 11 seasons as head coach.


125—Thomas Gilman (Iowa) dec. Tim Lambert (Nebraska), 4-0

133—Nathan Tomasello (Ohio State) dec. Cory Clark (Iowa), 5-4

157—Jason Nolf (Penn State) dec. Michael Kemerer (Iowa), 8-2

184—Sam Brooks (Iowa) major dec. Myles Martin (Ohio State), 12-2


1. Ohio State 139.5; 2. Penn State 130; 3. Iowa 112.5; 4. Nebraska 102.5; 5. Minnesota 93; 6. Illinois 88.5; 7. Michigan 83; 8. Tie, Rutgers, Wisconsin 67.5; 10. Michigan State 38.5; 11. Maryland 32; 12. Purdue 26; 13. Indiana 24.5; 14. Northwestern 18.