Spencer Lee to be presented Hammer Award at UWW World Cup

Cody Goodwin
Hawk Central

For Iowa's Spencer Lee, the awards just keep coming.

On Monday, Amateur Wrestling News announced that Iowa's star true freshman was the recipient of their annual "Hammer Award," which is given to the college wrestler that wins what the AWN considers to be the toughest bracket at the NCAA Championships.

Iowa's Spencer Lee wrestles Rutgers' Nick Suriano in the 125 pound national championship at the NCAA Wrestling Championships at Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland, Ohio on Saturday, March 17, 2018. Lee won by decision, 5-1.

Lee won the 125-pound national title in Cleveland over the weekend, going tech, tech, pin, pin and then beating Rutgers' Nick Suriano, 5-1, in the finals. He is Iowa's first true-freshman NCAA champion since Lincoln McIlravy, who won it as a true freshman in 1993.

The 125-pound field at the NCAA tournament featured seven returning All-Americans, including two returning champs in Ohio State's Nathan Tomasello and Lehigh's Darian Cruz, who finished third and fifth, respectively, and two past finalists in Minnesota's Ethan Lizak and West Virginia's Zeke Moisey, both of whom also earned All-American honors.

Lee will be presented the Hammer Award at the 2018 UWW World Cup in Iowa City, Iowa, on April 7-8 at Carver-Hawkeye Arena.

The World Cup is the international freestyle dual tournament that features eight of the world's top wrestling countries. Thomas Gilman, a former Iowa wrestler and a returning world silver medalist, will represent Team USA at 57 kg.

Cody Goodwin covers wrestling and high school sports for the Des Moines Register. Follow him on Twitter at @codygoodwin.