Former Iowa wrestler Bill Zadick to enter National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Cody Goodwin
Hawk Central

Bill Zadick added another stellar line to his illustrious wrestling résumé Tuesday.

The former Iowa wrestler will enter the National Wrestling Hall of Fame as part of its 2020 class. He is one of eight members being inducted, and is one of four that is entering as a "distinguished member".

The other seven: Bruce Burnett, Dremiel Byers, Mark Lieberman, as distinguished members; meritorious official Tim Shiels; Order of Merit recipient Gary Abbott; Medal of Courage recipient Gary Chopp; and outstanding American Carl Eschenbach.

The Hall of Fame Board of Governors officially decided on the selections at a meeting in Kansas City earlier this month. The induction ceremony will be held at the 44th Annual Honors Weekend on June 5-6, 2020, in Stillwater, Oklahoma.

“This group has accomplished and done so much for wrestling, and they continue to give back to our great sport,” Lee Roy Smith, the National Wrestling Hall of Fame's executive director, said in Tuesday's announcement release.

“We are proud to honor these remarkable individuals as our Class of 2020.”

Bill Zadick and his brother Mike run a wrestling camp in Great Falls every summer.

► FROM 2018: Bill Zadick returns to Iowa as head coach of defending world champions

Zadick was an NCAA Champion for the Hawkeyes in 1996 at 142 pounds under legendary head coach Dan Gable. He helped Iowa win back-to-back national team titles in 1995 and 1996. He went on to win a gold medal at the 2006 world championships in China at 66 kilograms (145 pounds).

Since 2016, the Montana native has served as the head coach of the U.S. men's freestyle world team. He guided the U.S. to the 2017 world team title, the country's first since 1995. That same year, Zadick was named the National Olympic Coach of the Year by the United States Olympic Committee.

Zadick's coaching abilities have lifted USA Wrestling at every age-level. In addition to the 2017 world team title, the U.S. men's freestyle world team finished second in 2018 and third this past summer. The U.S. men also won the 2018 UWW World Cup, held at Carver-Hawkeye Arena in Iowa City.

Prior to becoming the U.S. men's freestyle head coach, Zadick was vital in the success of the nation's age-level world teams. From 2011-14, the U.S. won eight Cadet World medals, nine Junior World medals and 10 medals at the University Worlds or University World Games under Zadick, including nine individual world champions.

A distinguished member of the hall of fame can be a successful wrestler, coach or a longstanding wrestling contributor who has substantially enhanced the development and advancement of the sport. Byers and Zadick were chosen as distinguished members for the modern era, while Burnett and Lieberman were selected by the Veterans' Committee.

Cody Goodwin covers wrestling and high school sports for the Des Moines Register. Follow him on Twitter at @codygoodwin.

Your subscription makes work like this possible. Subscribe today at