2020 Big Ten basketball tournament: The full schedule

Ryan Ford
Detroit Free Press

The 2020 Big Ten men's basketball tournament is set to tip off this week in Indianapolis.

With its 80-69 win over Ohio State on Sunday, Michigan State basketball (22-9, 14-6) clinched a share of the Big Ten regular-season title, sharing it with Wisconsin and Maryland. 

The Badgers are the tournament's No. 1 seed, based on their 2-1 record against the other two top teams. The Spartans are the No. 2 seed, followed by the Terrapins at No. 3.

Michigan State is the defending Big Ten tournament champ after beating Michigan in Chicago.

MSU accepts the championship trophy, after defeating Michigan in the Big Ten tournament title game March 17, 2019 in Chicago.

More on the Big Ten:

'Everyone's 0-0': Michigan turns the page to postseason, fixing defensive woes

Cassius Winston’s Michigan State legacy transcends basketball. Here’s how I know

Rutgers, as the No. 8 seed, and Michigan, as the No. 9 seed, will open Thursday's second round at noon, with the winner advancing to play Wisconsin. The Wolverines swept the Scarlet Knights this season in Piscataway, N.J., and at Madison Square Garden in New York.

The Spartans will face the winner of Thursday's 6:30 p.m. game between No. 7 Ohio State and No. 10 Purdue. Sunday's game between the Spartans and Buckeyes was their only matchup of the season. The Spartans lost their lone game this season against Purdue, falling 71-42 in West Lafayette, Indiana.

More:How Rocket Watts ignited Michigan State basketball: 'You got any balls?'

All games at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, and televised on Big Ten Network except where noted.

Here's the full schedule:

Wednesday’s first round

Game 1: No. 12 seed Minnesota vs. No. 13 Northwestern, 6 p.m.

Game 2: No. 11 Indiana vs. No. 14 Nebraska, 8:30 p.m.

Thursday’s second round

Game 3: No. 8 Rutgers vs. No. 9 Michigan, noon.

Game 4: No. 5 Iowa vs. Game 1 winner, 2:30 p.m.

Game 5: No. 7 Ohio State vs. No. 10 Purdue, 6:30 p.m.

Game 6: No. 6 Penn State vs. Game 2 winner, 9 p.m.

Friday’s quarterfinals

Game 7: No. 1 Wisconsin vs. Game 3 winner, noon

Game 8: No. 4 Illinois vs. Game 4 winner, 2:30 p.m.

Game 9: No. 2 Michigan State vs. Game 5 winner, 6:30 p.m.

Game 10: No. 3 Maryland vs. Game 6 winner, 9 p.m.

Saturday’s semifinals

Game 11: Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 winner, 1 p.m., CBS

Game 12: Game 9 winner vs. Game 10 winner, 3:30 p.m., CBS

Sunday’s final

Game 13: Game 11 winner vs. Game 12 winner, 3:30 p.m., CBS

Contact Ryan Ford at rford@freepress.com