Dan Gable Wrestling Museum announces 2019 Hall of Fame Class

Cody Goodwin
The Des Moines Register

The Dan Gable Museum announced its 2019 Glen Brand Hall of Fame Class on Tuesday.

Bob Kenny, Dave Martin, Steve Mocco, Brent Metcalf, Gene Doyle and the 2008 Waverly-Shell Rock wrestling team make up the 2019 inductees. They will all be inducted into the Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame of Iowa on June 7, 2019.

The Glen Brand Hall of Fame, located inside the Dan Gable Museum in Waterloo, was created in 2002 to honor those who have impacted the sport at a national level, or who have done extraordinary work in the state of Iowa. The hall recognizes native-born Iowans as well as those who achieved fame while at an Iowa school.

Brent Metcalf, a former Iowa wrestler who's now an assistant coach at Iowa State, was announced as part of the Glen Brand Hall of Fame Class of 2019 on Tuesday.

Kenny led Emmetsburg/Armstrong/Ringsted to eight state team championships — six traditional titles (2000-03, 2005-06) and two dual crowns (2002-03). In his nine seasons as coach, his teams went a combined 289-123-1 in duals, and he coached 88 state qualifiers, 56 state placers and 12 individual state title winners.

Doyle led Cedar Falls to three traditional state titles, back-to-back crowns in 1997-98, and one dual state crown in 1993. He coached for 15 seasons, from 1985-2000, compiling an overall dual record of 251-52. He coached 10 individuals to state titles and 43 total state place winners.

Martin, Metcalf and Mocco were all individual NCAA title winners. Martin won in 1970 at 158 pounds while competing at Iowa State. Metcalf competed at 149 pounds and was a three-time NCAA finalist and two-time champion at Iowa from 2008-10. Mocco was a two-time NCAA finalist and one-time champion at heavyweight while competing at Iowa in 2002-03.

The 2008 Waverly-Shell Rock team is the first high school team, and sixth team overall, to be inducted into the Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame. The Go-Hawks won the Class 3A state team title with a record 225 team points. That year, 13 of the 14 wrestlers in the lineup qualified for state, and 12 won medals, including four state champions in Jake Ballweg (119), Mark Ballweg (135), Dylan Wrage (189) and Eric Thompson (285). It was the second of five state team titles for Waverly-Shell Rock coach Rick Caldwell.

Additionally, Blake Williams, the head coach at Solon, will receive the Bob Siddens High School Coaching Excellence Award, and Marti and Jerry Roling will receive the Russ Smith Community Impact Award.

Cody Goodwin covers wrestling and high school sports for the Des Moines Register. Follow him on Twitter at @codygoodwin.