Boys' basketball: Meet the Des Moines Register's 2018 All-Iowa team

Matthew Bain
The Des Moines Register

This was quite the year for boys' basketball in Iowa, with one of the deepest talent pools in recent memory. That means some great players didn't make any of the All-Iowa teams. It means those who did were truly the best of the best.

Cedar Falls' AJ Green (4) holds the trophy as Cedar Falls celebrates its 65-45 4A state basketball championship victory over Iowa City, West on Friday, March 9, 2018, in Des Moines.

We selected the All-Iowa teams based on observations from both the Register and Iowa City Press-Citizen sports staffs, as well as consultations with high school and college contacts.

The All-Iowa basketball teams will be honored June 23 at the Des Moines Register Sports Awards at Wells Fargo Arena. All honorees are invited to the event, free of charge.

Elite Team

Cedar Falls senior AJ Green signs with UNI Wednesday at Cedar Falls High School.

AJ Green

Senior | Point guard | Cedar Falls

Green averaged 25.7 points at the Class 4A state tournament while leading Cedar Falls to its first state title. A Northern Iowa signee, Green ranked fourth in 4A in scoring for the season (25.8) and he added 2.8 assists per game. He shot 48.8 percent from 3-point range and his 119 made 3-pointers are most in 4A single-season history.

Joe Wieskamp, Muscatine

Joe Wieskamp

Senior | Small forward | Muscatine

Wieskamp led Muscatine to its first state tournament berth since 2002 and notched a 29-point, 11-rebound double-double in a quarterfinal loss to Iowa City West. He ranked second in the state with 33.7 points per game and he led 4A with 13.5 rebounds per game. An Iowa signee, Wieskamp scored 2,376 points in his illustrious high school career — good for most all-time in 4A and sixth all-time among all classes.

Garrett Sturtz, All-Iowa Elite Team

Garrett Sturtz

Senior | Guard/wing | Newton

Sturtz led the state with 34.7 points per game, and he added 3.8 assists and 2.1 steals per game. A Drake walk-on recruit, Sturtz racked up 1,746 career points at Newton — good for first place by 351 points. He’s also the school’s all-time assists leader. He topped 40 points six times this season, including 54- and 56-point performances in two of his final three games.

North's Tyreke Locure is a member of the Des Moines Register's All-CIML boys basketball team (Wednesday, Feb. 28, 2018).

Tyreke Locure

Junior | Point guard | Des Moines North

Locure led North to a 20-4 record and a substate final appearance against Johnston. This is his second consecutive year on the Elite Team. Entering the state tournament, he led 4A with 94 steals, and he ranked second and third with 166 assists and 28.1 points per game, respectively.

Patrick McCaffery, All-Iowa Elite Team

Patrick McCaffery

Junior | Forward | Iowa City West

McCaffery led the Trojans to their third consecutive state title game, averaging 19.9 points (on 52.3 percent shooting) and 6.3 rebounds and 2.3 assists along the way. The Iowa commit averaged 14.7 points and 5.7 rebounds at the state tournament, earning a spot on the 4A all-tournament team.

Class 4A First Team

AJ Green, sr., Cedar Falls

Joe Wieskamp, sr., Muscatine

Garrett Sturtz, sr., Newton

Tyreke Locure, jr., Des Moines North

Patrick McCaffery, jr., Iowa City West

Class 3A First Team

Brady Sartorious, sr., Mount Pleasant

Matthew Mims, sr., Cedar Rapids Xavier

Elijah Hazekamp, sr., Bishop Heelan

Zach Lester, sr., Clear Lake

Luke Vaske, sr., Norwalk

Class 2A First Team

Trenton Massner, sr., Wapello

Alec Oberhauser, sr., Aplington-Parkersburg

Parker Badding, sr., Kuemper Catholic

Jacob Vis, jr., Western Christian

Dillon Faubel, sr., Treynor

Class 1A First Team

Jake Hilmer, jr., North Linn

Grant DeMeulenaere, sr., Grand View Christian

Brady Gavin, sr., Martensdale-St. Marys

Ryan Miller, sr., North Linn

Nicholas Ruden, sr., St. Mary's Remsen

Honorable mention

Corvon Seales, sr., North Scott

D.J. Carton, jr., Bettendorf

Luke Appel, sr., Marshalltown

Devonte Thedford, sr., Des Moines Hoover

Sam Ingoli, sr., Dowling Catholic

Xavier Foster, soph., Oskaloosa

Jarad Kruse, sr., Oskaloosa

Nate Mohr, sr., Glenwood

Derek Krogmann, jr., West Delaware

Owen Coburn, jr., Spirit Lake

Harris Hoffman, sr., Cascade

Carter Cuvelier, jr., Aplington-Parkersburg

Marco Balderas, sr., South Hamilton

Isaac Prewitt, sr., Des Moines Christian

Ryan Schmitt, jr., Van Meter

Issa Samake, jr., Grand View Christian

Jesse Van Wyk, sr., Lynville Sully

Zack Martinek, jr., West Fork

Carter Boothe, sr., Central Decatur

Jake Carley, sr., At. Albert Council Bluffs

Sports awards info

The Des Moines Register Sports Awards recognizes and honors top athletes from across the state of Iowa in 21 sports. This event is hosted by the Des Moines Register and will take place June 23, 2018 at Wells Fargo Arena. The show features various awards, contests and a special appearance from Venus Williams.

Ticket info: General admission tickets are now on sale for the Des Moines Register Sports Awards. Purchase your tickets at

Athletes: Each honored athlete will receive one complementary ticket. Athletes will be contacted by their athletic director or coach with details on how to RSVP for the event. 

General admission: Public tickets are now on sale for the event.   

Individual ticket price: $35 plus service fees.

Family four-pack ticket price: $112 plus service fees.

Student ticket price: $25 plus service fees. Limited two per order. Use promo code STUDENT at checkout. 

Merchandise: Sports Awards T-shirts, tank tops and more are on sale now at

Hotel: Discounted hotel rooms are available at the Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel. Book at or call 1-800-514-4706 and ask for the “Des Moines Register All Iowa Sports Awards group block.”

Matthew Bain covers college football and basketball recruiting for the Des Moines Register. He also helps out with Iowa and Iowa State football and basketball coverage for HawkCentral and Cyclone Insider. Contact him at and follow him on Twitter @MatthewBain_.